City of Asheville Submitted: March 6, 2019 | Updated: May 3, 2019

Asheville Noise complaints

Please provide all available data on all calls reporting noise disturbance and loud noise from 2015- present.

Please provide in spreadsheet format.

Thanks much for your help.

Editor’s Note: Sunshine Request makes no claim as to the veracity of any statements or information contained in any of the requests, or public records, we receive.

Status: Completed

Activity:

  • May 3, 2019 4:25 pm

    2 weeks ago

    from: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    to: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    date: May 3, 2019, 4:25 PM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    You’re welcome. You have a good weekend as well.
    All best,
    Terry


    Status: Completed
  • May 3, 2019 3:08 pm

    2 weeks ago

    from: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    to: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    date: May 3, 2019, 3:08 PM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Terry,

     

    We have redacted the file to not include any personally identifiable information and have uploaded it on our site. We clearly noted that we were the ones who redacted the file and not the city. All of this means the request is now complete! Thank you so much for your help.

     

    Have a good weekend,
    Sunshine Request

     

    **Editor’s Note: The aforementioned document was sent to us by the City of Asheville on 03/13/19. This contained several fields of personally identifiable information.

     

    Sunshine Request is trying to balance providing good data to the public, while minimizing the amount of personally identifiable information we publish as relates to criminal justice. Therefore, as relates to the referenced document we received, we have redacted the file to exclude all the fields of personally identifiable information.

     

    Please see document (REDACTED-DOG-BARKING-CALLS-FOR-SERVICE-1.1.2015-TO-3.12.2019___-1.xlsx) at top left in “Documents”. If the requester would like to obtain the full data set, please contact the City directly. Thank you!


    Status: Completed
  • March 22, 2019 1:24 pm

    1 month ago

    from: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    to: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    date: Mar 22, 2019, 1:24 PM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Terry,

     

    Will do! Thank you.

     

    Sunshine Request


    Status: Follow up
  • March 19, 2019 10:52 am

    2 months ago

    from: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    to: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    date: Mar 19, 2019, 10:52 AM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Dear Sunshine Request:
    Unfortunately, I cannot send the reports in any other format. All of the information these records contain is public record; therefore, if you redact any information please clearly indicate that you redacted the information rather than the city.
    Thank you.
    Terry


    Status: Clarification Provided
  • March 18, 2019 5:18 pm

    2 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    to: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    date: Mar 18, 2019, 5:18 PM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Good Afternoon Terry,

     

    Sorry for the delay!

     

    We’re very thankful for your assistance with this request!

     

    We’re trying to avoid publishing personally identifiable information whenever possible. We’re wondering if it would be possible for the documents you sent to be resent, and only have the addresses specific to the block level. Also, if you could please remove the business names that would be great!

     

    If this is not possible, can you please provide us with this report in an Excel format rather than a PDF?

     

    Thank you again for your help!
    Sunshine Request

     

    **03/18/19 Editor’s Note: On 03/13/19 the City of Asheville provided the data that was requested. However, since it contained full addresses and other calls for service data, we’re not comfortable publishing the full data set on our site. We’re working with the City to get the data generalized with block-level addresses. If the requestor would like the complete information, they can feel free to email the City directly at opengov@ashevillenc.gov.


    Status: Clarification Requested
  • March 13, 2019 8:38 am

    2 months ago

    from: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    to: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    date: Mar 13, 2019, 9:28 AM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Dear Sunshine Request:
    I failed to include a record that includes dog barking complaints. I apologize for the mistake. Please find that record here.

     

    Please let me know if you have any questions.
    All best,
    Terry

     


    from: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    to: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    date: Mar 13, 2019, 8:38 AM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Dear Sunshine Request:
    In order to get an accurate depiction of all calls for service related to noise complaints it is necessary to search for three different call types – Loud Noise, Loud Music and Civil Disturbance. The calls for service related to loud noise and loud music for January 1, 2015 to March 12, 2019 are here. These equate to 6,454 (4029 and 3435 respectively) calls for service. Determining if a civil disturbance call was related to a noise complaint will require opening each individual record, of which there are 24,615 during the requested time period, to read through call notes. We have not read through these individual records due to the extremely large number of records.
    Please let me know if you have any questions.
    All best,
    Terry

     

    **03/18/19 Editor’s Note: On 03/13/19 the City of Asheville provided the data that was requested. However, since it contained full addresses and other calls for service data, we’re not comfortable publishing the full data set on our site. We’re working with the City to get the data generalized with block-level addresses. If the requestor would like the complete information, they can feel free to email the City directly at opengov@ashevillenc.gov.


    Status: Response Received from Government
  • March 12, 2019 12:58 pm

    2 months ago

    from: Terry White <twhite@ashevillenc.gov>
    to: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    date: Mar 12, 2019, 12:58 PM
    subject: Re: [Public Records Request] Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Dear Sunshine Request:
    I have received your public records request and will forward it to the appropriate record custodian for processing. Once processing is complete I will forward you any responsive records. In the meantime, if you have questions, please let me know.
    All best,

    Teresa (Terry) White
    Public Records Officer
    City of Asheville
    P.O Box 7148
    Asheville, NC 28802
    Telephone: 828.259.5631
    Facsimile: 828.259.5499
    Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm


    Status: Government Processing Request
  • March 12, 2019 12:33 pm

    2 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <records@sunshinerequest.com>
    to: opengov@ashevillenc.gov
    date: Mar 12, 2019, 12:33 PM
    subject: Records Request: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Hello City of Asheville,

     

    We’ve received a new request via www.sunshinerequest.com for information that may be available in your office.

     

    Here are the details of the request:

     

    Subject: Asheville Noise complaints

     

    Message:
    “Please provide all available data on all calls reporting noise disturbance and loud noise from 2015- present.

     

    Please provide in spreadsheet format.

     

    Thanks much for your help.”

     

    Thank you,
    Sunshine Request


    Status: Sent to Government
  • March 6, 2019 3:59 pm

    2 months ago

    Submitted to Sunshine Request
    Status: Pending